FLORENCE SCHOOL PICTURE – 1953 – 1954

Nice Looking Group of Children – Can You fill in the Blanks?

Row 1  Jackie Mansfield, Louise Jessome, Shirley Reardon   ?,  Miriam Gear,  ?,  ? 

Row 2  Lillian LeBlanc, Helen Pero, Nancy Jessome, Danny McIntosh, Cyril Edwards, Iris Sampson, ?

 

Row 3  Robbie McDonald, Woodie Nickolson, Jessie Fry, Helen Keeling, Doris Butts, ?

 

Row 4  ?,  Florence Ferguson,  ?,  ?,  Muriel Patey, Sylvia Higham

 

Row 5   ?,  Eddie Scullin, Melvin Barry, ?,  Freddy Murphy, ?,  Frankie (Duke) Dolanty

 

Row 6  Steven Moore, Henry McKinnon, ?,  Ray Peddle

Teacher: Ninette Williams – Florence Public School

(Picture and names courtesy of Nancy (Jessome) Gauthier and Steven Moore)

(I heard from Rob MacDonald row #3 number 1. He told me this was Grade 6 1953/54 school year)

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rob MacDonald (Row 3, # 1) on February 5, 2011 at 20:28

    Sorry that I cannot help with any of the missing names, but I know that this was the Grade 6 class, and so the picture must have been taken in the fall of 1953 or the spring of 1954. Wow! This sure brings me back. I’d like to see an updated list of names if anyone else fills in any of the missing names.
    Very interesting.
    Rob

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nancy Gauthier (Jessome) on February 6, 2011 at 00:33

    Grade 6 … Oh my ! Some of them look like babies. Stand by for a later issue featuring MINA FRASER ! Again, I don’t know the year but I’m sure Rob will. Please give Rob my email address.
    Thanks, Nancy

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ray Peddle on February 6, 2011 at 17:34

    George, Ray thinks that it is him in the picture. Back row far right.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ray Peddle on February 6, 2011 at 17:36

    Eddie Skullen,Melvin Barrie, Steve Moore are three of the guys Ray said he played baseball with.

    Reply

  5. I always enjoy the pictures of yesteryear

    Reply

  6. Posted by Tom King on February 8, 2011 at 00:45

    I love these old school pictures. I remember Helen Keeling becsause she lived on LeBlanc road and walked me to school in kindergarten (ABC’s then). Her sister-in -law, Leora Keeling, was my teacher. I also recognize Eddie Scullin. He is a cousin of mine, once removed I think. Frankie (Duke) Dohlanty lived at thte end of Woodland Road. I recognize the names Cyril Edwards,Danny McIntosh, Robbie McDonald, Woodie Nicholson, Ray Peddle, and Steve Moore. Would like to see more of these and would also like to correspond with people that were in my class.

    Reply

  7. Posted by chuck macaulay on February 10, 2011 at 10:30

    nice to see all af my old school chums would like to hear from anyone that might remember me chuck

    Reply

Leave a Reply

